The Department of Urban & Regional Planning is one of the key Departments in the ACTDA charged with the physical planning, and monitoring of land use in the Territory.

The Department of Urban & regional Planning is focused on creating an efficient, attractive, livable and functional environment for the sustainable development of an inclusive city through physical planning.

Departmental Structure

Under policy direction, the Department has been organized to discharge its functions more efficiently. For effective discharge of these responsibilities, the Department operates under a 5 divisional structure as outlined below:

  • Urban Planning Division
  • Surveying/Town Planning
  • Supervision Team
  • Resident Architectural Team
  • Geographic Information System (GIS)