Awka Capital Territory Development Authority is a regulatory body established by law with mandate to
Facilitate the implementation of the new Awka Capital City master plan and build the new Awka Capital City.

The Authority will function through a Governing Board which consist of :-
The Executive Chairman
The Executive Vice Chairman who is the MD/CEO of the Authority
Eight other Executive Members who are qualified professionals in the field of Estate Management,
Architecture, Surveying, Engineering, Urban Planning, Quality Surveying, Building and Law.

The functions and powers are :
There is hereby established for the Authority a Board to be known as the Board of the Authority”

(2) the Board shall:-

(a) Be responsible for formulation of policies for the effective performance of the functions of the Authority

(b) Give general guidelines of activities to the Executive Vice Chairman of the Authority;

(c) Sit for not less than six times but not more than ten times in a year; and

(d) Make rules and guidelines for the conduct of its meetings and operations.

The Capital Territory covers a land area of 400 square kilometres or a 10 kilometre radius from Amawbia Junction.

Ultimately, the Capital Territory of six (6) Local Government Areas (LGAs), in part or in whole – Anaocha, Awka North, Awka South, Dunukofia, Njikoka and Orumba North.